“The major work of the world is not done by geniuses. It is done by ordinary people, with balance in their lives, who have learned to work in an extraordinary manner.” ― Gordon B. Hinckley

Archive for May 1, 2012

6 Days Sober

I went running yesterday. If I’m being honest with myself, then technically it’s the first time I really went out to run in over a month. I did go biking/running on Saturday and I have gone a few other times within the last month. But I haven’t been doing anything that would have prepared me for my upcoming races. Anyway for the last month I have had the mind-set that I could drink 5+ Cokes a week sometime two at once and not suffer any setbacks.

P.S. I’m not proud of this moment. After this photograph was taken I swore off Coke ( this is a big deal) and have not had a Coke or any soda for 6 days and I have not fallen off the wagon.

Physically I feel like I am in a strange place. Let me explain. I have been working out at the gym most mornings, despite my afternoon Coke bingeing. So I can feel that my legs are stronger and my muscle endurance is better than it has been. My weakness right now is my lungs. It’s weird because normally I am in the opposite situation. My lungs are normally strong and my body can’t keep up. This is probably a result of my drinking problem and lack of training for the last month. After my 6 mile hell run yesterday I am more scared than excited for my upcoming Red Rock Relay in two weeks. Well that’s all I have for this week. Have a great week everyone.

 “It hurts up to a point and then it doesn’t get any worse.”
– Ann Trason